Basavaraj Bommai was sworn in as Chief Minister of Karnataka

Stand out:

  • Joined the BJP in 2008
  • Twice member of Rajya Sabha
  • Former Minister of the Interior of Karnataka

Bangalore: The main leader of the BJP, Basavaraj Bommai, has been sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Karnataka. Former Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa resigned after months of uncertainty in state politics and his close associate Basavaraj Bommai has been appointed as the new Chief Minister. He was sworn in as Chief Minister at the Raj Bhavan this morning.

Former Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa was also present at the swearing-in ceremony. Bommai was sworn in after meeting with leaders, including Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan.

Also Read:  Pegasus phone leak; Kapil Sibal wonders what will happen if the information falls into the hands of foreign countries

Read also: Meeting of leaders for the unity of the opposition; Mamata Banerjee will meet Sonia Gandhi today

Basavaraj Bommai’s father, SR Bommai, was also Chief Minister of Karnataka for nine months. This is the second time the son of a former prime minister has become the prime minister of Karnataka. Yeddyurappa congratulated Basavaraj Bommai on his swearing-in as Chief Minister. National leaders, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, took to Twitter to congratulate him.

Read also: He faces trial, including the Minister of Education; The opposition demands resignation; The reverse is directly from the government

Also Read:  In Coimbatore, a Dalit official stepped on the feet of a higher caste man; Collector requesting report

At the same time, it is unclear whether the new cabinet will have deputy chief ministers under Basavaraj Bommai. Union Minister Pralhad Joshi said the decision would be made by the national leadership of the BJP. The leading candidate, R Ashok, has also said that the decision will be made by the party.

Basavaraj Bommai, a two-time winner of BJP tickets to the Assembly, has previously served as Karnataka’s Minister of the Interior and Minister of Law. He left the JDU in 2008 and joined the BJP. Prior to this, he had been in Rajya Sabha for two years as part of the JDU.

Mount bribery case; A setback for the government

Also Read:  Look again; Aisha Sultana is scheduled to appear tomorrow for questioning

Related Articles

Back to top button