bhawanipur for the 2021 elections: Congress says it will not compete against Mamata? ‘New alliance’ in Bhavanipur, BJP main rival: Congress unlikely to present candidate against cm mamata banerjee in 2021 bhawanipur elections


  • By-elections in the Bhavanipur Assembly constituency.
  • Congress cannot present a candidate against Mamata.
  • By-elections will be held on September 30.

Kolkata: The Trinamool Congress and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee are unable to run a candidate for Congress in the by-elections in the crucial constituency of the Bhavanipur Assembly in West Bengal. On Sunday, the Trinamool Congress had said that Mamata Banerjee should be the party’s candidate in Bhawanipur.

If Congress does not present a candidate in Bhawanipur, the main rival of the BJP, Congress and the Trinamool Congress will be united. By-elections in the Bhavanipur assembly constituency will be held on September 30. The vote count will take place on October 3. The announcement was made by the Electoral Commission.

Congress Speaker Sonia Gandhi had said that the opposition parties should work together before the 2024 general elections. Mamata Banerjee, who opposed the BJP movement in the West Bengal Assembly elections, is now in close contact with congressional leaders. Congress is trying to get closer to Mamata Banerjee as part of building a broad opposition unit. Mamata Banerjee has benefited from the fact that the Trinamool government has no significant opposition to its alliance with Congress, which is part of the broader opposition. Mamata Banerjee had attended a virtual meeting of opposition parties called by Sonia Gandhi before the general elections of 2024.

Also Read:  Pegasus: the center remains silent; More petitions in the Supreme Court

The Bhawanipur by-elections will be crucial for Mamata Banerjee to continue as West Bengal’s Chief Minister. Together with Bhavanipur, general elections will be held in Samsarganj and Jangipur on September 30. General elections will be held on the same day in Pipali, Odisha.

Bhavinipur is the constituency where Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is expected to compete. The Electoral Commission has decided to hold by-elections in Bhawanipur at the request of the state government and in accordance with the Constitution. In the May elections, Mamata Banerjee lost to Suvendu Adhikari of the BJP by 1,956 votes in Nandigram. The partial poll follows the resignation of TMC’s senior leader, Sovandeb Chattopadhyay, a former MLA from Bhawanipur. Mamata Banerjee was an MLA from Bhawanipur in 2011 and 2016.

Also Read:  Will the school be opening soon in Kerala? The Center can decide for the states

By-elections to another 31 Assembly seats and three parliamentary seats, including some northeastern states, including Maharashtra and Telangana, have been postponed in the wake of the coup. The decision was made by the Electoral Commission after consulting with the electoral officials and the main secretaries of these states.

With the general election looming, the national leadership of Congress is closing in on Mamata Banerjee. Upon arriving in Delhi, Mamata met Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi. Congressional leadership believes that Mamata Banerjee’s strong stance against the Narendra Modi government will strengthen the broad alliance. In addition to Mamata Banerjee, CPN leader Sharad Pawar, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin, Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, PCM General Secretary Sitaram Yechury and D Raja were also present at the virtual meeting with Sonia Gandhi last month.

Central government warns against fake Kovid vaccine

Also Read:  "If you still praise me, I will act"; CM warns MLA

Related Articles

Back to top button