Navjot Singh Sidhu is now the President of the Punjab Congress


  • Sidhu was named by Sonia Gandhi
  • Four acting presidents were also appointed
  • Amarinder relented

New Delhi: The Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee will now be chaired by Navjot Singh Sidhu. KC Venugopal, who is in charge of the organization, reported on this in a press release. Four people have also been appointed as Acting Presidents. Punjab’s Chief Minister Amarinder Singh has given in to the High Command’s decision to make Sidhu president.

Pawan Goel, Sukhwinder Singh Danny, Kuljit Singh Nagra and Sangat Singh Gilsian are the acting presidents. After the meeting, AICC Secretary General Harish Rawat said Amarinder had made it clear that he would accept any decision made by Sonia Gandhi in the case of the PCC president.

Also Read:  'Some people just want to rule divided': Kamal Haasan responds to Konkunad controversy

Amarinder Singh had written a letter to Sonia Gandhi yesterday protesting the decision to make Sidhu president. The letter said that the High Command’s action would divide the Congress in Punjab. It was after this that Harish was sent to Punjab.

Also Read:  Kovacin is 77.8% effective and resistant to delta variants; Bharat Biotech publishes the results of the third phase tests

Related Articles

Back to top button