Will Konkanad be a Union territory? It is reported that the Center will move to divide Tamil Nadu


  • It is reported that the Central Government will take steps to divide Tamil Nadu.
  • The news that the Konkunad area will be relocated to the Union Territory.
  • The move targets the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Chennai: The central government is reported to be moving to divide Tamil Nadu into two states. The issue was not discussed on social media after a Tamil newspaper reported that a move was being made to make the western region known as Konkunadu a Union territory.

Also Read:  Maruti Suzuki becomes 'Green'; Diesel engine omitted

The new measure is reportedly targeting the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Konkunad is AIADMK’s stronghold. The move aims to defend the DMK government, which is in power in the state. The fact that the BJP has been trying for years to increase its influence in the region also adds to the news.

Konkunadu is one of the important districts of Tamil Nadu, including Coimbatore. The Konkanad region, which includes 10 Lok Sabha constituencies and 61 Assembly districts, includes Coimbatore, Tirupur, Erode, Namakkal, Salem, Dharmapuri, Nilgiris, Karur and Krishnagiri districts. According to the Tamil newspaper, the move is to make the Union Territory of 90 Assembly constituencies a few more constituencies in the vicinity.

Also Read:  india digital health card: digital health id card for all indians - india digital health id card things to know in malayalam

Some of the recent statements made by the Tamil Nadu BJP unit and AIADMK leaders confirm the new moves. K Annamalai, a former IPS officer from Karnataka, is a native of Konkan. The Murugan, who held the ministerial position in the cabinet reshuffle of the second Modi government, is also from Konkan. The BJP leaders grant Murugan the title of Minister of Kongunadu.

Also Read:  'Assassinated democracy'; Opposition against the Center; Protest in Delhi

Related Articles

Back to top button